Tags

Tomorrow is…or would’ve been the 91st birthday of Candida D. Alcantara aka Lola Canding to those of us who love her very much. My family is like most Filipino families. I lived and grew up with my grandparents. And to me, nothing can beat that.

My Lola is the simplest woman i know. Hindi ko yata namana yun. She lived simply, yes, never complaining through hard times… Always ready with a smile. She welcomed everybody into our home…even strangers ( which caused fear in our part, haha). But yes, she welcomed everyone and offered them food and money ( whatever was left in her hanky-turned-wallet).

I wish i could find the right words to describe how kind-hearted she was. I know it’s in times such as these that i get teary-eyed thinking how i should’ve told her how special she is to me…to us. But i know she would never let us live a life full of regrets… Only lessons learned and happy memories.

I miss my Lola…sooo much !

I like to call her my “Candle in the Dark” . Whenever i’m sad and in times when i have to remind myself to live simply, her memories light up my way.

20121002-192211.jpg

20121002-192224.jpg

20121002-192324.jpg

